The L Word Tightrope

I’m not sure what it is, maybe my pentecostal background, but I get uncomfortable whenever the word love is brought up in an evangelism context. I find I am wary of where the speaker is heading, concerned that they are going to launch into a theologically inaccurate gospel presentation. However, I think it is important to constantly review the L word. We should remember that it is Christ’s love that compels us, love for God and his glory and love for the lost. If we don’t speak the truth in love then are we fully glorifying God as he should be glorified?

My bible study group is tackling a six week study on evangelism, Six Steps to Talking About Jesus from Matthias Media. The first week was titled LOVE. To my relief it was a balanced study that also featured God’s righteousness, and his coming judgement while focussing in on our motivation being that of love. The passages studied were 2 Corinthians 5:10-21 and Ephesians 4:11-16 Good stuff. I am still concerned though that many christians could take materials like these and others and bend them to suit their own version of God, the cuddly god-is-love one. But I suppose we’ll never get past that problem this side of glory.

It will be interesting to look into this study course and get a different take on evangelism. I’ve found the Way of the Master stuff to be the most helpful I have come across so far. I’ll hopefully be able to keep you posted.

BTW: Can someone help my husband hand out more tracts? I am getting sick of them falling out of my handbag every time I reach in there and falling off shelves all over the house whenever I get something down. Clearly we either have too many or they are self-replicating…

Leave a Reply

