Teaming up for walk-up evangelism

There is much to be said for going out doing street evangelism with a friend. I do a lot of street evangelism by myself: it’s just so much more easier than organising a group to meet at a certain time and place. On Tuesday I tried my first serious walk-up evangelism with a friend who was interested in seeing how I share the gospel. It was really good. He had a lot of strengths that came out in answers to certain questions. Sometimes we took turns as we went through each explanation and other times we “double teamed” and talked to different people in the group at the same time.

Another benefit to evangelising with others is that you can actually learn things from your friends as you see them in action. My friend came out with some gems that I will remember and use next time I get those questions.

We only had a limited time (about 1 hour) and we witnessed to a large group of students (4-6), a Couple visiting from St. Helens and an elderly man from King Island. We also had two refusals to talk to us. One was from a pair of elderly ladies who sternly refused to talk about God and another was from a Couple who refused and said they were Aboriginal. I tried to open up in natural conversation with them but they seemed to feel that Christianity was anti-Aboriginal

We were really encouraged by going out witnessing together we are planning to get a few more people together and go out Sunday afternoon. Perhaps in a place where there are a lot of people with time on their hands to talk.

I now want to share just a part of an email that my friend sent to me reflecting on his experiences evangelising with me. I had previously shared with him that I felt nervous witnessing to our last guy – Barry.

Hi Daniel,

Today was very good. It felt very unusual to go into the mall and actually and actively care about the souls of people there… I am impressed with your directness with total strangers and I think it is quite disarming (in a good way) for many people.

I didn’t notice any nervousness on your part when we talked with Barry – I was too interested in his very bright and sparky character and lively eyes – seemed liked quite a nice bloke with a lot of history. I was surprised that I felt no nervousness with any of the people we spoke to. I liked the way that you didn’t just abandon conversation with those who were disinterested in talking to us. The Aboriginals were an interesting pair, I think maybe conversation with them might be better started about social justice, meaning of life, social ills of abuse, alcoholism, racism etc. and then turned to God and His standard and what that means for them as rational moral humans who are just as bad(in God’s sight) as the white Europeans who mistreated them and made them want to distrust and reject anything they have to offer including Christianity.

I think some (many) people really need a relationship of trust and respect to be able to hear the truth. That said, I think there is a big need for us to spread the gospel whenever and where ever and to who ever we meet. Our time or their time could come at any moment and what a great opportunity to miss not telling a hell bound sinner about where we are going and how to get there. I love how you just choose anyone to speak to, No respect of persons. I analyse my prospective converts too much. It is better just to dive in with everyone. I need to learn that.

I had a sense of the awesomeness and solemnity of bringing the gospel to people on the way into town. If we do it faithfully then the Spirit will use it to awaken souls now or later or ultimately harden them. The Word never returns void. It does what it was sent to do. God’s Word finds and convert sinners and leaves the hard of heart without any excuse. Obviously God is in charge of how many opportunities any person gets to hear the gospel but still it is a big thing to bring it and be a part of that process…

Leave a Reply

