Using the key of eternal perception in tract handouts

I have come to see how little I use eternal perception in handing out tracts. When there is time for a longer conversation about the gospel or a preaching opportunity I always include it. I’ve just got stuck in the mode of “Hi, did you get one of these? Its a gospel tract.” I think I can improve by sharing with the person getting the tract something like “Hi, did you get one of these? Its a gospel tract. There is nothing more important than your eternal destination, please read this carefully!”

That is a very quick and efficient way of bringing to mind in people an eternal perception. Other alternatives might be”

  • None of us know how much time we have on earth. Look into what happens when you die
  • Do you know if you died today if you would go to heaven or hell?
  • You will be confronted with the eternal realities of heaven and hell when you die, know your destination.
  • Its so important that you examine the reality of your eternal destination. You can discover if it will be heaven or hell.

I realise that I can improve my tract handouts by adding a short statement to prick people’s minds about heaven and hell. The following link is about a man who did this simple thing to 10 people every day for several years. As you listen, be inspired by God’s faithfulness in using a simple witness.

http://www.goshareyourfaith.com/downloads/Witnessing_George_Street-Sowing_Seed.wmv

2 Responses to Using the key of eternal perception in tract handouts

  1. Coops says:

    Hey yeah just saying “Here’s a gospel tract” almost sounds like we are embarrassed about it, or we don’t want them to think we are these super stressed out fundamentalist Christians. How about “It could end up saving your life forever”?

  2. Nice. Yeah I like your suggested line: “It could end up saving your life forever”; that’s a great way of saying it. I think I do get a bit embarrased sometimes. I think its because I forget the real reason I should witness – they need to so desperatly repent and trust Jesus. They have no shelter from their sin, but in Christ! The wrath of God is against them (if they are not yeat a Christian)

    I think the goal is the most important thing – we want them to start to think about something that most people rarely think about – what happens when they die?

Leave a Reply

