Obstacles to Evangelism: Work!

Back at work now after 2 weeks of holidays. In my break I had a great opportunity to do evangelism. I think the beauty of holidays is that you don’t have to worry about a whole lot of other stuff. That has now changed. I am finding evangelism difficult now for a couple of reasons.

Firstly, I have hardly any spare time. It’s now 8:30pm and I am putting in this blog entry (first chance in last couple of days) but there is still stuff I could be doing instead. Secondly, I am finding it difficult to switch mindsets from High School teaching to evangelism. This sounds weird, but my job requires a lot of concentration and thought and it takes a while to come out of that mindset and start thinking about the lost around you. This second point is only subtle but I think its a bit of an obstacle. The main problem is just not having free time anymore.

My plan is to try and be ready for opportunities in and after school and not get completely sucked into work thinking. If I am honest, my weekdays do present me with the occasional opportunity. Also, I still have my weekends. Hopefully I can fit in an hour or so of intentional street evangelism – or maybe some open air preaching at these times.

I will let you know how I go with these new adjustments. It will probably mean a bit of slowing down on my blog too.

Leave a Reply

